Inhibitions

Inhibitions

At the Easter show it began to pour and the crowds huddled under shelters. We all looked on as one lone child stepped out from the covering and began to dance in the rain. She twirled, splashed and oped her mouth wide to catch the heavy drops. I heard another child ask if mother if he could also dance in the rain “no, you will get wet” she replied. I watched the child dance, so free. I felt so adult like and trapped. Tied down by knowledge, the knowledge that I would look a mess, I would take ages to dry and my possessions would get ruined. So I stood and waited for the storm to pass. Do we need to learn to dance in the rain? I think we are born with this knowledge, the key is keeping it.

Leave a Reply

